Thank You Barcelona!

IMG_1390What I  want to share in this blog  today is that I have had a very heavy heart these past week weeks as well. In the mist of planning my voyage and this wonderful experience my mother-in-law has also become very ill. I admire this woman very much so it’s been very humbling, she is truly the strongest woman I have ever met both physically and emotionally. I only wish I could bring her with me… Her life journey and strength is reminding me to do things “my way” as she would proudly say, but now more than ever. As we talk and discuss life I truly see how much women sacrifice for everyone and my goodness how honorable to do it with so much grace! I only hope to be half as strong as her in life and feel so blessed to be her friend.

I plan to enjoy my adventure whole heartedly and I truly have fallen in love with it! I enjoy writing in a way I haven’t since a little girl. Life at times has a way of tarnishing dreams and life goals as much as being amazing. I remember sitting as a little girl in my dad’s farm in the Dominican Republic writing poems, writing ideas of what I wanted to do and be as an adult. Then my parents separated very abruptly and my childhood filled with dreams, joy and a strong sense of security suddenly became a fight for survival…It’s all a very long story… But I now understand how my secure space out of no where was non existent and that it effected me deeply and made me leave a big part of my shining soul in that farm, in that amazing place; but my mother-in-law’s strength and this trip are teaching me that it is time to move on. Writing was liberating to me, starting this blog has truly brought Annamaria back to Anna. I feel myself in a way I haven’t in decades, true to me, true to what and who I am, confident and true to my soul! Barcelona in a very strange way you are helping me move forward, teaching me to leave hurt behind and to learn from the past and never look back! To be strong again and to do it with grace and honor as my mother-in-law did and continues to do. Thank you Barcelona for reigniting this fire in my soul!

Leave a Reply

